Wren Reviews: ‘Undivided’

Title: Undivided
Author: Neal Shusterman
Genre: Dystopian, Romance, Science Fiction, Action, YA fiction
Note: This series is complex. I will not go into details for the plot. I think you should read it yourself. This review won’t have all the characters, though. I will put only the three main characters.
Premise:
(Goodreads)
Teens control the fate of America in the fourth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman.

Proactive Citizenry, the company that created Cam from the parts of unwound teens, has a plan: to mass produce rewound teens like Cam for military purposes. And below the surface of that horror lies another shocking level of intrigue: Proactive Citizenry has been suppressing technology that could make unwinding completely unnecessary. As Conner, Risa, and Lev uncover these startling secrets, enraged teens begin to march on Washington to demand justice and a better future.

But more trouble is brewing. Starkey’s group of storked teens is growing more powerful and militant with each new recruit. And if they have their way, they’ll burn the harvest camps to the ground and put every adult in them before a firing squad—which could destroy any chance America has for a peaceful future.

Plot: The plot is action. This one is focused on the characters not trying to survive but trying to fight back. They are taking matters into their own hands. They are determined to save the world.
Lev wants the Chancefolk to step in. Cam wants to release his rewind brothers and sisters. Risa and Connor want to use the organ printer to do something.
And it works. Their efforts aren’t in vain. They work.
Character Development:
Connor Lassiter. Connor is interesting. He’s brave and daring. But he isn’t smart. He acts without his mind and thoughts. He jumps into actions. I think that recklessness is terrible. But Connor is always the soldier. He fights. And I like that fighter spirit.
Risa Ward. I don’t particularly like Risa. She’s interesting. But she is a bit lame. I do like how she acts on her emotions at times. Especially when she tries to protect the people she loves. I hope she gets married to Connor. That would be a sweet ending. Risa would be great with Connor.
Levi Jedediah Calder. I don’t particularly like Lev. He becomes reckless as Connor. He becomes some guy obsessed with the mission he had. He focuses on crazy missions. Finding Wil’s parts pirates. Etching names on his small body. Making people see the truth. These are major undertakings for Lev. I think he bites off too much sometimes. But that makes him interesting. I hope Lev ends up well. Maybe being adopted. Maybe something else. I don’t know. I just wish him well.
Problems: I think that this book has fewer problems than others.
This book has complicated story lines and characters. It’s hard to keep things in line. Sometimes, it’s easier. Sometimes, it’s not. I didn’t like the confusion. It’s hard to keep up at times.
Another problem is the focus on other characters. This story started with Lev, Risa, and Connor. I wanted it to be that way. Sure. It’s important to have Grace’s view. Or Argent’s. But there wasn’t enough of the main three characters. I felt like that was lacking.
Good points: There are a lot more good things.
I like the plot’s action. It’s interesting. I like it. While it switches point of views, you want to read more to know about that character. It keeps you going.
The characters are quite amazing. I like their growth. Lev was a tithe. Now, he’s a representative of anti-Unwinding. It’s quite an amazing change. Everyone in this story changes.
I like the way the story ends. It ends with family and friends and love. For some reason, the love isn’t bad. I like Risa and Connor together. They’re good together. They compliment each other. I like how their relationship is. It’s not all kissing. It’s light brushes and small smiled. Reassuring looks. Winks. The small things you might overlook. But they don’t.
I like how friendship is added. It’s strong connections. Lev and CyFi. Lev and Connor. Hayden and his group. The Graveyard kids. They are all amazing friendships. I also love how family is added. Your parents sign the unwind order. What does that mean? How does it feel? Do you forgive them? Amazing questions.
This story ends well. There aren’t questions. I feel like it ends well. The antagonists are gone. Nelson gone. Juvies gone. Everything ends peacefully. These characters deserve it.
Score: 8/10
Recommended: If you like the series. If you like dystopian. If you like Neal Shusterman.
Leave a Reply

