Interview with Jody Casella

I recently met Jody Casella author of ‘Thin Space’. She came down to my state on Wednesday (10-8). Thank you so much, Jody, for giving me this chance to interview you!
Here is her official bio:
Jody Casella is a former high school English teacher with a degree in Creative Writing from Rhodes College and a Masters in English from the University of Memphis. Her first novel Thin Space, a paranormal YA mystery published by Beyond Words/Simon & Schuster, received a starred review from Kirkus. She lives with her husband and two teenagers in Columbus, Ohio. In addition to writing books, she visits schools, libraries, and book clubs to talk about the creative/revision process,  sporadically cleans her house, and walks her dog. A lot. 
Interview:
1. Why did you start writing?
I have always loved books and I wanted to create my own stories.
2. What is your favorite series/book?
I don’t have one favorite book, but some authors I love: Sara Zarr, Laurie Halse Anderson, Meg Rosoff, John Green, and Maggie Stiefvater.
3. Who is your favorite author?
(see above)
4. What do you do to help writer’s block?
I try to write something every day and I give myself permission to write crappy pages. I know that I can always revise later.
5. If ‘Thin Space’ was a movie, who would be cast as the leads? (Maddie and Austin/Marsh.)
Not sure if he is too old– but the actor Logan Lerman, I think, would be good as Marsh. For Maddie, maybe Elle Fanning?
6. What is your favorite song to help get you writing?
I don’t listen to music while I write, but when I was working on Thin Space, I used to listen to “All These Things That I’ve Done” by The Killers before I’d begin each day’s writing session.
7. How much do you write a day? (On average.)
When I am drafting, I try to write 1500 words per day. When I am revising, my goal is one chapter per day.
8. Where do you love to write? (Coffee shop? Bookstore?)
I write at home on my couch with my dear little writing dog Zooey curled up beside me.
9. Would you rather write one book about your life or write a million about everything but your life?
I try to avoid writing autobiographical things… but somehow little bits and pieces of real life always end up in my made-up stories.
10. Would you rather live in a book world or have your characters live in yours?
I would much rather live in a book world.
11. What book world would you like to go to?
Harry Potter!
12. Where do you see yourself in ten years?
I hope I am still writing and still traveling around talking about my books.
13. What do you do to relax after a stressful day?
Read!!
14. Which author would you love to meet? (Based on books or how they are personality wise.)
I wish I could go on a hike with Maggie Stiefvater. Also, I want to meet her goats.
To contact  her:
Email: jodycasella (@) yahoo (dot) com
Twitter: @jodycasella
Facebook: Jody Casella
Goodreads
2 thoughts on “Interview with Jody Casella

  1. Just wanted you to know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award!! 😀 just go to my blog and it’s the first post c: (i don’t wanna post the link because it’ll go to the spam folder) unless it already did :c

    Like

Leave a Reply

