Wren Reviews: ‘United We Spy’

Title: United We Spy

Author: Ally Carter

Genre: Action, Adventure, Romance, YA Fiction

 

Premise:

(Goodreads)

Cammie Morgan has lost her father and her memory, but in the heart-pounding conclusion to the best-selling Gallagher Girls series, she finds her greatest mission yet. Cammie and her friends finally know why the terrorist organization called the Circle of Cavan has been hunting her. Now the spy girls and Zach must track down the Circle’s elite members to stop them before they implement a master plan that will change Cammie—and her country—forever.

 

Plot: This is an action-filled plot. We have the girls together again. Cammie is trying to save her friends and her family. She tries to save her world.

In all honesty, I don’t like ruining either a) good books or b) action packed books. Especially these types of books.

Here are the major spoilers I will say:

Townsend ends up being Zach’s father. (Remember Catherine is an ex-Gallagher Girl and Zach’s mother.)

Mr. Solomon and Cammie’s mom get engaged.

They end up rescuing people. (Specifically…Preston.)

That’s all I’ll say. Those are major spoilers, folks. I try not to spoil good books. But this isn’t an amazing book. It’s pretty good.

This series has memories for me. I started it a long time ago.

But this book has action. I loved the action. There were cheesy scenes, but the romance was limited. It was a good dose of romance, though. It wasn’t too much. I like that about this book. The romance isn’t overwhelming the ideals of family and friendship and togetherness. There is friendship. Liz, Bex, Cammie, and Macey are a fantastic group of friends. It’s nice to see them stick together for each other.

The ending, though, is nothing to be desired. I felt like it ended abruptly. The story was a bit rushed. I didn’t like that.

 

Character Development:

Cammie. Let me say this simply. I don’t like Cammie. She has her great moments, but her thoughts are confusing. She acts like a senior one moment and then a little, seven-year-old girl. I can’t tell if she’s older than she should be or younger. I feel sorry for her, though. She’s gone through so much. I know YA characters typically go through trauma, but I think Cammie’s gone through way too much. Kidnappings. Torture. Pain. Suffering. I don’t want to know why Ally Carter made poor Cammie go through all of this. I pity her and wish she didn’t have to suffer so much. But…it was the author’s choice. She does grow up. I remember her being so innocent and boy crazy in the first book. But she grows into a mildly senior personality by the end of this book.

Zach. Am I the only one not attracted to Zach? ‘Hot’ spy boy just isn’t for me. I don’t like Zach really. I think his commitment to keep his friends and loved ones safe is cute and admirable. Not many people would sacrifice themselves. He’s smart and quick, but I think that he is too flirty. I like how he evens out Cammie, though. He keeps her calm. I feel like he’s more of ‘Cammie’s boyfriend’ than a spy. Oh well…

Bex. I adore Bex. She’s brave, but she can let her walls down. I want to hear more from her. How does she react to these things happening around her? She isn’t given enough pages. I truly love her character. She’s fantastic.

Liz. I do think that there are good things about smart characters. They are good in calculations and other things. They can do things quickly, solving problems faster than, maybe, the main character. But Liz is extraordinary. I can’t imagine how terrible it is for her. She’s a genius amongst geniuses, but she seems like the impossible character. How can someone be that smart? I might never know. I think Ally Carter took her smarts too far really…

Macey. I think Macey has changed. She was a very stubborn and rich girl character. She is now a Gallagher Girl. I think that Macey is the character who changed the most. Or second most. I think that’s great for a character to be the one who changes drastically. Even if it isn’t the main character. As a person, I don’t particularly like Macey. She still clings to a bit of her rich girl persona, but I think she can shake it off.

 

Problems: Let me say that there are problems. There are definitely problems in this book. Here they are.

The ending seems rushed. Things tumbled in, happening left and right. There could have been a better way to end things, but Ally Carter didn’t take that route. I feel like there was the potential for a great ending without questions, but I want more. Surprisingly. I want more Bex and Macey. I truly do. I rather not have Cammie and Zach on missions. I want Bex’s perspective.

The characters are a bit odd. I like some of them like Bex, but I feel like some of them are stuck in the spotlight. Bex, for example, doesn’t get enough pages. I feel like she could have been expanded more. Bex has the potential for more. But we were stuck with Cammie the entire while. While I didn’t mind that, Cammie’s voice gets tiring. She is still a child sometimes. I feel like that young adults acting like children are nothing but nuisances. They need to grow up and settle into adulthood. Even if they don’t like it.

The story was confusing. I was confused on what the plot was actually on. We got different situations. I had to guess about what happened sometimes. It got me off-track sometimes. I didn’t completely understand what happened.

 

Good points: There are good points. I think that the story had good enough characters. There are interesting points to them. I like Cammie and how she deals with things. Zach’s past is intriguing as well.

I think that there is an adequate amount of action and romance. We don’t have just romance or action. We have both.

Another plus is the friendship. There isn’t just romance. There isn’t just Zach and Cammie. It’s Bex and Cammie and Liz and Macey. It’s family and friends and trust. It’s quite amazing. There are few books that involve these other romances not just love romance.

 

Score: 7/10

Recommended: If you like spy stories. If you like female spies.

 

Leave a Reply

