Wren Reviews: ‘Thin Space’

Title: Thin Space
Author: Jody Casella
Genre: YA Fiction, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Realistic, Supernatural
Premise:
(Goodreads)
Ever since the car accident that killed his twin brother, Marshall Windsor has been consumed with guilt and crippled by secrets of that fateful night. He has only one chance to make amends, to right his wrongs and set things right. He must find a Thin Space—a mythical point where the barrier between this world and the next is thin enough for a person to step through to the other side.

But, when a new girl moves into the house next door, the same house Marsh is sure holds a thin space, she may be the key—or the unraveling of all his secrets.

As they get closer to finding a thin space—and closer to each other—Marsh must decide once and for all how far he’s willing to go to right the wrongs of the living…and the dead.

Plot: Marsh’s brother, his twin, is dead. And Marsh is searching for a thin space, so he can make things right.
I’ll reveal the big spoiler now. It’ll make things easier. Marsh, the narrator, is actually Austin. Marsh died in the crash, but no one realized it was Austin who survived. Not Marsh.
Marsh and Austin switched places with each other as a joke. They went on a double date with Logan and Kate. Kate being Austin’s girlfriend and Logan being Marsh’s. That is actually a confusing part. Marsh kisses Kate, pretending to be Austin. And Austin got mad. Told Marsh to leave. Marsh took off his seatbelt. And the drunk driver bit.
Marsh died.
I know that sounds gory, but that’s what happened before the book.
The story is about Austin, the real one, finding thin spaces. Or a thin space. He joins Maddie the girl who lives in the house where he thought a thin space would be. Together, they search for the thin space. They go from place to place, looking for it. Each has their own reason to go in.
Austin wants the real Marsh to live and for him, Austin, to die. Maddie wants to see the father she never had.
And they find the thin space after Mrs. Golden, the guidance counselor, indirectly helps them find it. It’s in Maddie’s bedroom. They go into the other world. And talk to the people they want to talk to.
And Austin ends up telling Maddie that he’s not Marsh. And he goes home. And faces the truth to let Marsh go into the afterlife.
Character Development:
Austin. I feel for Austin. He’s the one living. I guess he feels the guilt of the lies he told. I can understand his pain. I haven’t felt it myself, but it’s plain as day. I think he is a great character. He has depth to him that other characters don’t. I think that Austin is one of those characters that will last with me. Forever. He grows from pretending to be Marsh to becoming Austin. That change isn’t easy for him. But he does it. And that’s what I like about him. He’s lying to everyone. Until he faces facts and tells the truth.
Maddie. I don’t particularly like Maddie. She isn’t a character I enjoy. She isn’t annoying or anything. I just can’t feel for her. She’s someone who just is there. She helps Austin figure out the truth, but I feel like she was there only for her own motivation. I do want to know what happens between Austin and her. There was something there. Even if I don’t like that ‘something’.
Problems: I don’t feel like there are many problems. This book is quite good. It’s interesting to keep me reading. (I would have finished it anyways.) It was enjoyable. I felt for the character Austin, and idea was great on its own.
My problem is the confusing mix-up. I got lost about the girlfriends. I felt like Austin was saying he was Austin then he was saying he was Marsh. I got very confused there. I don’t like being confused as I read my books. I really don’t.
Another problem is the romance. Where did Maddie come in? Where is the spark between her and Austin? What about Kate? Is Austin just going to leave her? I don’t get it.
Good points: I quite enjoyed this book. I liked the writing. The plot was interesting but confusing. I understand at the end. The last and first words were quite amazing as well. I thought that the characters were written quite well. I felt for Austin. The pain of being someone seen as lesser. Even if I’m not a twin, I can understand that. I think that this story is a very good one. Many should read it.
Score: 8/10
Recommended: If you like supernatural. If you like a quick read. If you like an emotional character with a dark past.
One thought on “Wren Reviews: ‘Thin Space’

Leave a Reply

