Top Five Reasons Why I Don’t Like Realistic Fiction

If you’re new to my blog, you might notice that my books have been a bit more on the realistic/urban fantasy side of things. Even if you’ve been following me since the beginning (and I thank everyone who is in this category) you might have noticed this…change.

Why am I doing this exactly? Well, there are many book Instagramers. For me, I follow some of them. (@bekkareads @boysreadbooks @thebooknerdia) And they mostly read realistic. And, for me, it’s hard to resist, and sometimes not as hard, not looking at books if a popular Instagram book account recommends them. I don’t do it always, but there are the occasions.

Then, I look at the Goodreads site for it. It might be good. It might be terrible.

And I skim to the right hand side of the page…and see the recommended books. This is precisely how my to-reads count is near the two hundreds on Goodreads. (Don’t believe me? Check it out: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/5457159-wren?shelf=to-read )

And I can’t help myself. For me, I don’t really like realistic. I just can’t stop looking once I start. I have to forcibly stop myself from reading any further.

 

And if you’re wondering why I don’t like realistic books, here are my ten reasons why.

 

1: Realistic books sometimes, but more often than not, involve romance.

I am not a fan of romance. While it might be entertaining, I don’t actively search for romance books. One of the important things, for me, when looking at a book is the amount of action it might have. Is there no action? Tons of it? Maybe some? It depends and changes. I honestly don’t know why I love action. It might be because of my dull and boring life. Perhaps.

 

2: Friendships take backseat to romance and lovers.

This corresponds with the first point. I know that it doesn’t always happen, but I’ve read enough realistic fiction to see it happening than not. Friends are lesser in books unless the book is about friendship. Most realistic books aren’t necessarily about friendship. (Apparently ‘We Were Liars’ is about friendship. I just don’t have the urge to read it right now.) Love is the main focus of some realistic stories.

 

3: The characters aren’t always exciting.

Characters sometimes are left…cold. They don’t have the depth of other characters. To me, a good character has a past you can relate to or something that leaves you with questions in the mind. A character has many sides of themselves. I know that people do. I am one of those people. The characters don’t always change. I feel as if the romance and face-eating takes over developing the story and the characters.

 

4:  The story seems to make me feel nothing or almost nothing.

I don’t usually feel for the characters. It might be because of bad character development. Or it might be my stickler standards. (Dark and brooding guys. Maybe nice ones. Or kickass heroines. Dark pasts. Questions. Many personalities.) I don’t usually like the plot. It’s either dull or slow. I don’t usually like realistic fiction plot. There isn’t the thrill of action. I don’t really like reading it unless there is drama or suspense.

 

5: The real stories aren’t usually told.

By this, I mean, the real things people go through. I feel as if there are a limited number of books based on suicide and depression and pain and hatred. I mean…there are the Ellen Hopkins books, but those are a few in the sea of many realistic books. I know that if I wrote a realistic book, my main character might die of suicide. Or might be depressed. Not all authors address these problems. And they are problems. I am someone who feels these problems close to home. My close friends are depressed. I know how it feels to be that friend trying to console them. But. These stories are put on the back burner while romance takes hold. If only that could change.

One thought on “Top Five Reasons Why I Don’t Like Realistic Fiction

  1. Yes! This is why, for a very long time, I avoided contemporary books like the plague. In fantasy, there was always something more going on than finding the perfect guy: a powerful villain, a world in pieces, some political drama,… just something more. Sadly, I’ve been noticing that a lot of those issues have been leaking to other genres as well, including fantasy. It’s almost as if it’s mandatory for romance to exist in books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

