‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ Review

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Genre: Realistic, Romance, YA fiction
Premise: The premise isn’t the best. Nor the worst. Clay’s crush Hannah Baker has died. Suicide. (I do not, in any way shape or form, condone suicide.) And she has left maps and tapes to the people who forced her to suicide. And Clay is one of the lucky few to find out the true story.
Plot: This story is told differently than I expected. I expected parts for the different tapes. But not in the way the book was written.
The story starts off with Hannah’s first kiss. Justin. He’s a complete and utter douche. We, then, get Alex and Jessica. The new kids with Hannah. But the ones who get all…messed up. This part annoyed me. Friends shouldn’t turn on you! Honestly….
Now. Don’t think I am going to examine all of the people and the stories. I’m not. I’m going to point out a few more, and that’s it.
I think that the party is important. Not the after party one. I mean the Clay and Hannah party one. This is actually a cute scene. In a way. Hannah goes through so much. It’s more physical contact that starts things. Not self-esteem. Not mental abuse. She was being taunted by rumor and gossip. (Guys. Don’t spread rumors unless you know they are true. You can affect so many people with a single word.)
This plot isn’t amazing. The weaving of the stories, Clay and Hannah’s, just doesn’t work. I got confused. A lot. Often. It made me think, though. This story made me think about the different aspects of life that I experience. I won’t name them. I like to keep my personal life out of thes things.
Character Development: I feel like there are so many characters to keep control of. I can’t keep control of them all. Seriously. I’m just listing the two main characters. Hannah. And Clay.
Clay. I don’t like Clay. I don’t like the nice characters. I mean…goody-two-shoes nice. I prefer those who are brooding. Darker characters. Honestly, Clay didn’t grow. He learned but didn’t grow. Well…kinda. He learned about Hannah’s feelings for him, which is more of an obsession. He learned about the truth. The ass slap. The Hot or Not list. The party. Justin. He learned everything. Or what Hannah thought was important.
Hannah. I don’t love her character, but her story is interesting. Those without these drives to suicide or people who don’t know those who want to kill themselves won’t understand. I’m the latter. A good part of my online friends, and my best friend, are suicidal. It’s hard to convince a suicidal person to live. It really is. I can understand Clay’s pain sometimes. But I can also see Hannah’s. She is drowning! No one notices. She has to keep it all in. She goes through things people should never go through. And I see her perspective. But…not all the time. I understand the loss of trust. I see that. It happens. A lot more often than you might think. And that loss of trust can result in your downfall.
Problems. This book has its problems. It has the problems of many other realistic books. It seems a tad off. Like you can’t really feel the story. It’s just right out of your reach.
The way the book is written is awkward. It really is. I felt confused reading this book. The way it was worded? Confusing at best. There were times when I completely lost the characters. They just…blegh. I didn’t see the purpose of random Clay exclamations. You want to know about Hannah. Not Clay. Not Clay.
The character Clay was just plain. I don’t like the typical, nice characters. He mentioned secrets, and I didn’t get his. This book was in his perspective unless it was Hannah’s story. It wasn’t the type of thing I wanted. I wanted more about him. Don’t lure readers in! That’s deceptive. I know it’s Hannah’s story with pieces of Clay’s, but I felt as if the author baited me with things about Clay. And I did bite! And got nothing.
I didn’t feel like the beginning was good. I don’t like the ‘we start at the end’ toe of books. It’s plain confusing. I don’t get why that is there. Honestly… It makes no sense. You have no purpose starting at the end. It’s a summary of what happened. In a way.
This book has no action. That’s something I usually look for. I can’t believe there wasn’t one fight. Over anything. I know that the drama surpasses my need for action, but I felt…oddly needy for the lack for the action.
Good points: Good points! This book is about suicide. No one really knows how it feels unless you’re feeling it. The reader starts to understand. It’s just a scratch on the surface, but you can understand more with other books. (Maybe Ellen Hopkins. I haven’t read her stuff yet, but it deals with similar plots. It’s darker than ‘The Fault in Our Stars’.)
This book has the drama. The drama that keeps you wondering what happens next. Jay Asher did well in the cliffhanger between chapters. If I didn’t read this through in one day, I would be screaming.
I felt like this book could have been more. I usually feel this way, but this book went closer to what I wanted. The writing wasn’t the best, but it wasn’t terrible. The premise was interesting, but the story didn’t really live up to its potential.
Score: 6/10
Recommended: If you don’t mind stories about suicide. (I won’t say if you like that. That’s wrong.) If you like truthful realistic stories that deal with real topics.
One thought on “‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ Review

Leave a Reply

