Love Triangles in Young Adult Fiction

Love Triangles in Young Adult Fiction

 

Ah. Love triangles. The two who seem to be meant for each other and, maybe, a past lover. Or someone who lusts for one or the other.

Let me just name a few couples in young adult fiction. (This is mostly in dystopian, science fiction, and fantasy type books. Not so much in realistic.)

Katniss, Peeta, and Gale (‘The Hunger Games’)

Alex, Lena, and Julian (‘Delirium’)

Kira, Samm, and Marcus (‘Partials’)

Imogen, Jaron, and Amarinda (‘The False Prince’)

America, Maxon, and Aspen (‘The Selection’)

Deuce, Fade, and Stalker (‘Enclave’)

 

Just to name a few. Honestly, I don’t get it. Why are there love triangles in books? They don’t necessarily happen in real life. It is confusing. This could portray romance as something you pursue with two people.

It’s just…confusing.

In almost every book I’ve read (realistic is still the only exception), there is a love triangle.

I can honestly say only a few books come to mind that DON’T have love triangles.

‘Divergent’ and ‘Ashfall’. And maybe ‘The Testing’. Other than that, most books I’ve read have love triangles. It isn’t really funny.

People don’t love two people in that way. Yes, there is love between family members. People usually stick with one person unless they are cheating. Are books condoning cheating? It seems that way sometimes. It’s usually two guys and a girl. Is that a good influence for girls? I don’t necessarily think so.

Why exactly is everyone writing books with love triangles? It’s a very good question.

I just might do a big author email to ask them. If I do, I’ll write a follow-up to this post with responses.

Leave a comment