‘Eve and Adam’

Title: Eve and Adam

Author: Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate

Genre: Romance, Science Fiction, YA Fiction

 

 

Premise: I do love the premise. A girl hurt in an accident is put to the task of creating a perfect, human boy. She has the capabilities to do this because of her uber-rich mother who runs a science company. She is a person who doesn’t interact with many boys because she is oh-so picky.

I do love the premise. The question of ‘what is perfect’ arises. But…sadly, this book is lacking in that. This is not much of a…science fiction as I hoped it to be. It doesn’t involve too much philosophy to what ‘perfect’ is.

This book is really lacking.

 

Plot: The first chapter wasn’t bad. This book is some type of…religious book that isn’t religious at all. Sure, the fact that Eve is ‘playing God’ and the apple. And then the names. Adam. Evening aka Eve aka E.V. The plot is a bit dull. There is Solo doing his thing, and he somehow falls in love with Eve and intertwines their fates. The ending seemed rushed. Everything was piled on at once. Why is that? This book could have easy reached mid-300 pages and ended perfectly. The scene with Tommy the Tattooed Dude was just a bit dull. And his death was too quick. How does Eve’s leg not ache? She hasn’t used it in…days. Weeks! (Not to mention the insta-romance between Solo and her.) The science behind this is a bit odd. I understand that you could probably make a human, but that would be far in the future. Science now isn’t ready for that. And then we have Aislin and her part of the story. I admit, I like Aislin’s character. But seriously? Her boyfriend isn’t that idiotic. There are too many things that are ‘coincidence’.

 

Character Development: Oh goodness. Here is the fun part!

Eve. Let’s start with her. She doesn’t grow really in this book. She grows from some…ignorant child into…what? Someone who knows a bit about her mother? Someone who knows she’s a genetically modified child? She is still pretty stuck-up. She seems high maintenance to me. And I don’t like that in people. Eve is whiny and has a problem with the nickname Eve. And E.V. isn’t any better of a nickname! She is a petulant child. A spoiled brat in some cases.

Solo. Solo… Geez. Not all hackers work out. Let me say that first. Solo is a bit bratty. He is fueled by anger for Terra. I do admire his passion. He is a hacker, but he is a very fit hacker. A very fit person, I might add. He doesn’t have good hair, though. It says it was long, right? I don’t understand that. Is it long as in Eliot from ‘Leverage’ long? Or…girl long? I don’t know. And I don’t particularly like Solo. His character is just too…complex. I do love complex characters. I love brooding ones. The ones with horrible history. Solo just doesn’t do that for me. I have questions. Was he really that upset at being in this beautiful facility? It seems like he’s a bit…needy. And how in the world did he fall in love with Eve in such a short period of time? Sheesh!

Aislin. I like this character. She is real and more tangible than perfect Adam or whiny Eve or spoiled Solo. Aislin has real problems. Extremely annoying and exaggerated problems. A boyfriend like that? If she can seduce any guy, she can dump Maddox. Why keep him? Is Aislin just…clingy? She’s a good friend to Eve even though she drinks. I mean…she seems more real than Eve. Perfect Eve who doesn’t drink and keeps her virginity. In reality, teens have sex. They drink. They smoke. Maybe less or more than society thinks, but it happens. And Aislin is the smack of reality in this book.

Adam. I know there isn’t much of Adam to tell. But he is no way perfect. He gave me the philosophy I wanted, but it just seemed wrong. I do love the quote that he said. It is quite deep, and it made me think for a bit. (Of course, I just dove back into my book.) He is handsome. And kind. But not very brave. I do think his personality is okay. There could be an entire short story on Adam and Aislin alone.

 

Problems:

There are too many problems in this book.

The insta-love. Solo, you just met Eve. Eve, Solo just met you! You can’t love someone within a week or so. I mean, it was a week or so. Maybe two…or three. Perhaps. You barely met him, but his touch is your drug. Wow. Seriously? I could understand if it was channeled by desire and beauty. But  this? No. Just no.

The thing with the parents. Okay. This is just confusing. Eve’s father crashed into Solo’s parents. Simply because Terra didn’t want Solo’s parents to be working on their genetic project? A little rash. And Eve’s father seems like that down to earth guy who gets his head in the clouds on the occasion. I don’t necessarily think that would work in this case!

Adam is a problem in himself! He is this…semi-perfect guy. And how was he made? Eve barely finished him before he was introduced! People don’t work in genetics that fast. I don’t think technology could have advanced that far ahead.

The hacker Solo. Solo is a problem. He’s a different problem than Adam. Solo is smart. I can see that. Where did he pick up those hacking abilities? You need to learn code. Was he taught code? I don’t know. And when did he get so smart about the entire ‘coffee spill’ thing and sneaking into places. He’s a combination of Parker and Hardison from ‘Leverage’. A hacker and a thief. Not to mention a hint of Eliot’s hitter skills. This guy is probably ‘more perfect’ than Adam. Not that I believe in perfection really. He is just too…good. A smart guy who looks handsome with nice muscles and a good knack for stealing things. Just a bit too good for my tastes.

When is this book set? It seems like it’s realistic fiction, but it seems so wrong. This can’t be in the current time and day. This seems a bit in the future. I mean…no USB ports? That could be in the future. How far in the future? I know that it’s in San Francisco, but what time? What year? It’s not specific. I prefer if books gave a time. Maybe fifteen years or fifty. At least say something!

 

Score: 5/10

Recommended: If you like quick and easy romance. If you want to just have a cute, little read during the summer. If you like short books or need to speed through books to reach some quota.

 

“There is no always,” I say. “Nothing persists forever.”

“Nothingness persists,” she says. She is testing me.

“No. So long as anything persists, nothingness is impossible. In fact, it’s nothingness that cannot persist. Nothingness gives away to somethingness.”

Pg. 201 ‘Eve and Adam’

 

2 thoughts on “‘Eve and Adam’

Leave a Reply

